! Important: After a group is deleted, its name cannot be reused (unless someone specifically contacts Groups.io Support and asks to be able to use the name again). If you think you might want to use that group name again or make it available for others to use, rename the group to some nonsense name before you delete it. Exception: The name of a deleted subgroup can be reused. There might be a short delay until that name is available again.
To delete a group or subgroup:
- Desktop browser: In the left menu on the group’s website, select Admin > Preferences > Settings.
Mobile device: At the bottom of a group page, tap the More icon, then select Admin > Preferences > Settings on the More menu. - Scroll to the bottom of the Settings page.
- Look for and click or tap the red Delete Group button (in a desktop browser, it is at the far right). The Delete Group page appears.
- Review the red warning banner that asks whether you are sure you want to delete the group and displays a notice that the action cannot be undone.
- If you are certain you want to delete the group, click or tap the red Delete Group button under the red warning banner. A Verify Delete popup appears.
- Complete the Verify Delete popup:
- In the first text field, enter any feedback for Groups.io, if desired. (This field is optional.)
- In the second text field, enter the words I understand.
- Click or tap the red Yes button. The group is deleted.
More Options
More
Introduction to Groups.io for group owners
Creating a group
Promoting your group
Group aliases
Renaming a group
Customizing group settings
Setting membership defaults
Changing the group's cover photo and icon
Managing group and member notices
Managing members
Managing owners and moderators
Managing topics and messages
Managing hashtags
Activity log
Analytics dashboard
Notifications about group activity
Storage space
Integrations
Subgroups
Donations and sponsorships
Sticking topics and wiki pages to the top of the Topics page
Locking and unlocking groups and subgroups
Banning or unbanning domains
GitHub support in Groups.io
Upgrading or downgrading groups
Groups.io billing
Exporting or downloading your group’s data
Deleting a group or subgroup
Enterprise group features
About
Features
Pricing
Updates
Terms
Help