Re: Another rant

Jerry N9AVY

Yes, I agree that Eqsl is too easy to use. Most of the Eqsls I get are from PSK stations in Europe, many of them are newbies as well.  Part of the problem is , I think, the use of automatic Eqsls which if you don't catch a mistake goes out with that mistake.

I was a QSL Manager back in the day when everyone had paper logs.  I spent a lot of time searching though logs trying to match up QSL cards with log entries ...   some were actually hours off and some were actually a  couple days off. Mostly because people were sloppy about their logs with time keeping. There was actually a case where I received a bunch of cards , one for each band, from a well-known big DX station and some were for bands that the station I managed never operated. No response was ever made. I wasted a lot of hours trying to get people their cards. Oh and one of the stations I managed was making in excess of 25,000 Q's a year !

Back to the Eqsl,  I'm sure there are many bogus entries in LoTW, some are duplicate entries, some are time corrections, some may be "busted" calls and other may be just that some folks don't use LoTW.  I send everyting I work to LoTW. Sometimes I'll get a surprise when I get a confirmation from a station I worked 30 years ago ! Yes, LoTW does have its faults, the main reason is that it's so darned hard to get it up and running, but when it's finally running it works.

Last night I received an apology from one of the 13 Colonies stations:

"Dear N9AVY,